Requirements: Firearms dealer license 
Where to apply for a firearms dealer license
You can apply at the local law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where your business is located.
· If your business is in the unincorporated area of a county, go to the sheriff’s office. 
· If your business is in an incorporated city, go to the police department. 
What to bring when you apply
Bring all of the following items:
· Your federal firearms license. 
· Your state business license. To learn more, see File a Master Business Application or call 360-664-1400. 
· A picture ID, such as a Washington driver license or ID card. 
· A check or money order for $125 (payable to the “Department of Licensing”). 
Background check required
You must be fingerprinted and a have criminal history background check before you’re issued a firearms dealer license.
How to renew: Firearms dealer license
Each year you must renew your firearms dealer license. When you renew:
· Go to the local law enforcement agency that's in the jurisdiction where your business is located. If your business is located: 
· In the unincorporated area of a county, go to the sheriff’s office. 
· Within an incorporated city, go to the police department. 
· Your fingerprints will be retaken. 
· Bring all of the following items with you: 
· Your Federal Firearms License. 
· Your State Business License. 
· Your current Washington Firearms Dealer License. 
· A picture ID, such as a Washington driver license or ID card. 
· A check or money order for $125, payable to Department of Licensing. 
Frequently asked questions: Firearms dealer license
Who must have a firearms dealer license?
By law, you must have a firearms dealer license if you:
· Are engaged in the business of selling firearms at wholesale or retail. 
· Have or are required to have a federal firearms license under 18 U.S.C. Sec. 923(a). 
What are the hours for applying for a license?
Application hours vary from agency to agency and you will need to contact your local law enforcement agency for their specific hours.
How long does it take before I receive my firearms dealer license?
If you are applying for your first firearms dealer license, it may take up to 30 days to complete the background check before the license is issued.
How long is my firearms dealer license valid?
Your firearms dealer license is valid for 1 year from the date of issuance. You won’t receive a renewal notice and it is your responsibility to ensure your license hasn’t expired.
How do I get the state pistol transfer forms I need to sell handguns at my business?
Once you have your firearms dealers license:
· We’ll mail you the forms after we receive a copy of your Washington firearms dealer license from the law enforcement agency. 
· or 
· You may request forms by faxing a copy of your new license to the Department of Licensing Firearms Unit at 360-586-2726. 
What if I want to move my firearm store or business?
· If you are moving your store or business within the same law enforcement jurisdiction, a replacement license with the new address will be issued at no charge. 
· If you are moving to a new jurisdiction, you’ll need to contact that law enforcement agency for a new license. 
What if I want to open another firearms store?
If you open another firearms store, you must get a Washington firearms dealer license for the new location. You’ll need to bring all of the following:
· Your federal firearms license. 
· Your state business license. 
· Picture identification such as a Washington driver license or identification card. 
· A check or money order for the $125 fee, payable to “Department of Licensing.”  
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